Love Exiles Foundation

Do Ask! Do Tell!

Message from Gordon Stewart after testifying at the Hearing

4430_107231228798_678488798_2677580_980667_s

Dear Family and Friends:

I wanted to provide an update from Washington, DC.  The hearing took place this morning.  I think our testimony was very strong and I hope we have made history.  I was pleased that my 25 year old nephew, Chester, could join me.  After the hearing, Senator Leahy invited us to his private Senate office to speak to him and to have official pictures taken.

In addition to presenting my testimony, which changed somewhat from the version I sent earlier, Senator Leahy received a letter from Jeff Kindler endorsing the UAFA.  I have attached that letter as well as my final testimony.

If you would like to see my testimony you can see it on YouTube .

You can view the whole hearing.

While this is an important first step, we are far from at the end of our fight.  Unfortunately there is still strong opposition to the UAFA.  We hope that UAFA will be included in the Comprehensive Immigration Reform that President Obama (Yes We Can!) will introduce next week.  But there will be a big fight and I don’t expect a quick fix.

If you are interested in donating to Immigration Equality, please log on to immigrationequality.com.  We appreciate any financial support you can provide.  The fight is not over.

Kind regards,

Gordon Stewart

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2009 by in US Legislation and tagged .

Love Exiles Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this website and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

(c) Copyright 2009-2011, Love Exiles Foundation

